BOARD OF ALDERMEN SPECIAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING NOVEMBER 21, 2017

The Board of Aldermen of the City of Milford held their Special Organizational meeting on Tuesday, November 21, 2017, in the Board of Education meeting room. Mayor Blake called the meeting to order at 6:41p.m. He asked all those present to rise for the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mayor Blake stated this is the first meeting of this new term (2017-2019), reiterating it is the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Aldermen. He extended congratulations and welcomed those new members of the Board of Aldermen. He stated he looked forward to working with and Board and that they would all work together for the best interest of Milford, as they had done in the past with spirited conversation.

1. Roll Call

Board Members Present

B. Anderson

D. German

K. Fortunati

C. Gaynor

A. Giannattasio

J. Golden

J. Grant

M. Hardiman

F. Smith

A. Sutton

J. Tranquilli

N. Veccharelli

P. Vetro

R. Vitali

Also Present

Mayor Benjamin G. Blake Joanne Rohrig, City Clerk

Excused

E. Beatty

2. Matters of Organization of the Board of Aldermen:

a. Election of Chairman of the Board of Aldermen

Mayor Blake opened up nominations for purposes of nominating a chairman.

Ald. Veccharelli stated he would like to nominate Ald. Vetro for the chairmanship. He stated Ald. Vetro has done a good and fair job over the years.

Ald. Hardiman seconded the nomination.

Being no further nominations for chairman, Mayor Blake closed nominations.

Motion carried unanimously.

Mayor Blake turned the meeting over to Chairman Vetro.

Chairman Vetro thanked the Board for their support and confidence. He stated he had always been fair to both sides and would continue to do so. He noted there had been differences in the past, but expressed his hope they could work together for the citizens of Milford.

- b. Announcement of Majority and Minority Leaders
- Ald. Golden stated she was happy to announce Ald. Veccharelli as the Majority Leader.
- Ald. Veccharelli thanked the Board for the selection as the majority leader. He stated he looked forward to a good two years and working with both sides of the aisle.
- Ald. German stated he wished to announce Ald. Giannattasio would serve as the minority leader. He stated Ald. Giannattasio has done a great job over the last two years.
- Ald. Giannattasio stated he wished to thank each of the aldermen, and welcomed the new aldermen who he stated he looked forward to working with. He congratulated Ald. Veccharelli and looked forward to working with the Board.

3. Matters of Administration

- a. Appointments of Aldermanic Standing Committees by aldermanic chairman
- 1. Meetings of the Aldermanic Standing Committees for the purpose of electing a Chairman and a Vice Chairman of each committee and conducting any other business pertinent to the Administration of the Standing Committees. Rules Committee to vote on recommended aldermanic Rules of Order for 2017-2019.

Chairman Vetro announced the temporary committee chairs for the aldermanic Standing Committees.

Ordinance Committee: Frank Smith, temp chair, Anthony Sutton, Ellen Beatty, Anthony Giannattasio and Raymond Vitali.

<u>Public Works Committee</u>: Bryan Anderson, temp chair, Janet Golden, Karen Fortunati, Dan German, and Anthony Giannattasio.

<u>Claims Committee</u>: Janet Golden, temp chair, Martin Hardiman, Frank Smith, Dan German, and Raymond Vitali.

Rules Committee: Marty Hardiman, temp chair, Bryan Anderson, Nick Veccharelli, Connie Gaynor, and James Tranquilli.

<u>Public Safety & Welfare Committee</u>: Ellen Beatty, temp chair, Karen Fortunati, Anthony Sutton, Jeremy Grant and Connie Gaynor.

<u>Personnel Committee</u>: Philip Vetro, Chairman, Nick Veccharelli, Vice Chairman and Anthony Giannattasio.

Chairman Vetro stated the Board would stand in recess to allow each of the committees to meet and formally elect a chairman and vice chairman. He also stated the Rules Committee would meet to.

The Board recessed at 6:53 p.m.

Chairman Vetro reconvened the Board in public session at 7:14 p.m.

2. Reports of the Aldermanic Standing Committees:

Ordinance Committee—Ald. Giannattasio reported Frank Smith was elected as Chairman and that he would serve as Vice Chairman.

<u>Public Works Committee</u> – Ald. Anderson reported he was elected as Chairman and that Ald. Golden would serve as Vice Chairman.

<u>Claims Committee</u> – Ald. Golden reported she was elected as Chairman and that Ald. Hardiman would serve as Vice Chairman.

Rules Committee – Ald. Hardiman reported he was elected as Chairman and Ald. Anderson would serve as Vice Chairman

<u>Public Safety & Welfare Committee</u> – Ald. Veccharelli reported a change to this committee. He stated he would be replacing Ald. Beatty on the Public Safety & Welfare Committee and that he was elected as Chairman, with Ald. Fortunati elected as Vice Chairman.

<u>Personnel Committee</u> – Chairman Vetro stated he would serve as Chairman with Ald. Veccharelli as Vice Chairman, in accordance with the City Charter.

3. Voting on the Adoption of the aldermanic Rules of Order for the 2017-2019.

Ald. Hardiman and Ald. Veccharelli made and seconded a motion to adopt the Board of Aldermen Rules of Order (2017-2019) as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

b. Appointments of Liaison Assignments by Aldermanic Chairman

Board of Education: Janet Golden, Raymond Vitali

Flood & Erosion Control Board: Karen Fortunati, Connie Gaynor

Park, Beach & Recreation: Anthony Sutton, Connie Gaynor Planning and Zoning Board: Anthony Sutton, Dan German

Sewer Commission: Marty Hardiman, Jay Tranquilli

Harbor Management Commission: Nick Veccharelli, Raymond Vitali

Council on Aging: Ellen Beatty, Connie Gaynor Library Board: Frank Smith, Jeremy Grant

Fowler Memorial Commission: Nick Veccharelli, Jay Tranquilli

Milford Redevelopment & Housing Partnership: Bryan Anderson, Jeremy Grant

Golf Course Commission: Marty Hardiman, Raymond Vitali Inland Wetlands Agency: Karen Fortunati, Jeremy Grant

Board of Health: Ellen Beatty, Raymond Vitali

<u>Department of Human Services</u>: Ellen Beatty, Jay Tranquilli Pension and Retirement Board: Karen Fortunati, Daniel German

Milford Government Access Television (MGAT): Janet Golden, Jeremy Grant

Economic Development Commission: Anthony Sutton, Daniel German

Veterans, Ceremony & Parade Commission: Nick Veccharelli, Jay Tranquilli

Fine Arts Council: Frank Smith, Connie Gaynor

Fire Commission: Nick Veccharelli, Anthony Giannattasio

Milford Progress, Inc.:Ellen Beatty, Daniel German Police Commission: Philip Vetro, Anthony Giannattasio

c. Appointments of Special Committees by Aldermanic Chairman

Chairman Vetro announced the appointments of the Special Committees as follows:

<u>Permanent School Facilities Building Committee</u>: Matthew Woods (R), Citizen, Robert Nunno (D), Citizen, Mark Ahrens (D), Citizen, Ald. Raymond Vitali, Ald. Martin Hardiman,

Chairman Vetro stated the Board of Education had not had their organizational meeting, therefore they had not announced their representatives to this committee.

Being no further business, Ald. Veccharelli and Ald. Golden made and seconded a motion to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board adjourned at 7:22 p.m.

Kathleen A. Kennedy

Respectfully submitted,

Recording Secretary